Jealousy

At dead of night, when strangers roam

The streets in search of anyone who’ll take them home

I lie alone, the clock strikes three

And anyone who wanted to could contact me

At dead of night, ’till break of day

Endless thoughts and questions keep me awake

It’s much too late

Where’ve you been?

Who’ve you seen?

You didn’t phone when you said you would!

Do you lie?

Do you try

To keep in touch? You know you could

I’ve tried to see your point of view

But could not hear or see

For jealousy

 

I never knew time passed so slow

I wish I’d never met you,

or that I could bear to let you go

At dead of night, ’till break of day

Endless thoughts and questions keep me awake

It’s much too late

One Response to “Jealousy”

  1. I like this poem. Kind of reminds me of

    The crystal ship

    Before you slip into unconsciousness
    I’d like to have another kiss
    Another flashing chance at bliss
    Another kiss
    Another kiss

    The days are bright and filled with pain
    Enclose me in your gentle rain
    The time you ran was too insane
    We’ll meet again
    We’ll meet again

    Oh tell me where your freedom lies
    The streets are fields that never die
    Deliver me from reasons why
    You’d rather cry
    I’d rather fly

    The crystal ship is being filled
    A thousand girls, a thousand thrills
    A million ways to spend your time
    When we get back
    I’ll drop a line

Leave a Reply

